Trailer Addict Rundown – 10.11.2011

Here are my first impressions of  the trailers that are on the first page of the website http://www.traileraddict.com. The titles are links to the trailers.

The Avengers

This is the crowning jewel of Marvel Studios. “The Avengers” is one of the most well thought out movie franchises that I have ever seen. I have recently rewatched all the films leading up to this one and I love how each film plays into the next. This trailer is exactly what we’ve been waiting for. It’s exciting, it’s humorous, and I don’t think it gives too much away. There’s at least one clip I could have done without and that is Thor looking like he’s going to smash Captain America’s shield with his hammer. The problem is that I may be waiting for the this moment to happen when I’m watching the movie and I’ll be distracted from fully enjoying the movie. This film is due to release on May 4, 2012.

Carnage

This film is directed by Roman Polanski and stars Jodie Foster, Kate Winslet, John C. Reilly, and Christoph Waltz. This is a great start.  I have never heard of this film before watching the trailer. It appears to be part drama, part comedy. It looks like the entire film takes place in an apartment between two sets of parents discussing the actions of their children. My first reaction was that it must be based on a play and upon further review I find that it is.  I’m not sure if this is a film I would set out to watch myself, but then again I’m not a fan of films that are built upon the inevitable tension that is set to explode at any minute. I do think the play is probably fantastic, so I’ll probably wait until the DVD release.  This film is due to release on December 16, 2011.

Happy Feet Two

The sequel to the hit “Happy Feet” this film returns with the voices of Elijah Wood and Robin Williams. This trailer gives the audience a good introduction to at least three different storylines that this movie will have. I really enjoyed the first movie, but I’m not too sure about this one. The first film included many songs that are considered much more classic like “Somebody to Love” and “I Wish.” This brings in the parents and adults that normally might not enjoy a kid’s film. Based purely on the trailer I feel like the sequel will start pandering more towards the younger crowds with their song and dance selection. Where the last film seemed to base itself around a tap dancing style (which I think fits the look of penguins), I feel like the sequel will offer more hip hop/club moves that will make the penguins look like the Kia hamsters from the commercials. In other words, ridiculous and maybe a little creepy. I’m sure my fears do not show themselves but we won’t know until release date.  This film is due to release November 18, 2011

The Adventures of Tintin

I haven’t read any Tintin growing up, but I knew of it. I know there is some back story I do not know of. I’m sure there are a lot of people that would be coming to this material fresh just like me. The trailer makes sure to highlight that this film is directed by Steven Spielberg and produced by Peter Jackson. These names do make me interested, but the ones that excite me more are the writers, Steven Moffat and Edgar Wright. For those not familiar Steven Moffat is the current writer for both “Doctor Who” and “Sherlock.” Edgar Wright has directed such great films as “Shaun of the Dead,” “Hot Fuzz,” and “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.” He also wrote the last two. This trailer reminds me of a good old fashioned adventure film with a young protagonist. Spielberg knows how to direct this sort of film (Goonies, E.T) and I actually got goosebumps watching the trailer. It looks like  good-natured adventure film for the whole family. This film is due to release December 21 2011.

Since this is the first post of this series I have only done the first row. The posts following will not include the trailers I’ve already talked about even if they are on the first page.

Leave a Reply

